Return to composition list: By Genre / By Opus

Serenade No. 10 in Bb Major, K. 361-370a, Op. 85, No. 3 (1784?/2017)

For Saxophone Ensemble

Live Performance:

Eastman Saxophone Project

Duration: 6'

  1. III. Adagio


  • Soprano Saxophones (2)
  • Alto Saxophones (3)
  • Tenor Saxophones (3)
  • Baritone Saxophones (2)
  • Bass Saxophone

Program Notes:

Mozart's Serenade No. 10 (affectionately known as the "Gran Partita") remains somewhat of a musicological mystery. Its instrumentation is unlike any other from the time, originally composed for an expanded Harmoniemusik of two oboes, two clarinets, two basset horns, two bassoons, four horns, and a string bass. Its composition date is still debated, although it seems likely it was composed in late 1783/early 1784 for a benefit concert given by Anton Stadler, where four movements were premiered.

This version for saxophones of the Adagio was commissioned by Chien-Kwan Lin for the Eastman Saxophone Project in the spring of 2018.